Resources

Low FodMap

Coming soon

Local Farms

In Western North Carolina (WNC), we have an abundance of lovely farms with products to help us eat healthy and local. Below is a link to find them: http://www.buyappalachian.org/search/all_farms If you live outside o WNC, you can find local sources to food where you live at the link below: Local Harvest www.localharvest.org

Tailgate Markets (Central Mountains, NC

Here is a list of farmers’ markets in Central WNC: Asheville City Market Sat., 8 am-1 pm www.asapconnections.org/citymarket Asheville City Market South Wed., 1-5 pm www.asapconnections.org/citymarket Black Mountain, Tailgate Market Sat., 9 am-12 pm www.blackmounatintailgatemarket.com Eat Asheville Tailgate Market Fri., 3-6 pm On Facebook at East Asheville Tailgate Market French Broad Food Co-op Tailgate Market Wed., 2-6 pm On Facebook at Wednesday Co-op Tailgate Market Leicester Farmers Market Sat., 9 am-2 pm www.leicesterfarmersmarket.com Madison County Farmers and Artisans Market Sat., 9 am-1 pm www.marshillmarket.org Montford Farmers Market Wed., 2-6 pm www.montfordfarmersmarket.com North Asheville Tailgate Market Thu., 3:30-6:30 pm www.oakleyfarmersmarket.com Sundays on the Blanahasset Island, Marshall Sun., noon-4 pm Weaverville Tailgate Market Wed., 2:30-6:30 www.weavervilltailage.org West Asheville Tailgate Market Tues., 3:30-6:30 pm www.westashevilletailgatemarket.com WNC Farmers Market Daily 8 am-6 pm www.wncfarmersmarket.org Yancey County Farmers Market Sat., 8:30-12:30 am Burnsville There are several winter and holiday markets in the area!

Local Food Non-Profits and Advocacy Groups

Appalachian Sustainable Agricultural Project http://asapconnections.org/ Carolina Farm Stewardship Association www.carolinafarmstewards.org http://sustainableagriculture.net/ The Cornucopia Institute http://www.cornucopia.org/ American Farmland Trust http://www.farmland.org Environmental Working Group http://www.ewg.org/key-issues Food & Water Watch https://www.foodandwaterwatch.org/ Food Democracy Now http://www.fooddemocracynow.org/ Blue Ridge food Ventures www.blueridgefoodventures.org/  Ashevillage http://ashevillage.org/  Organic Grower’s School http://ashevillage.org/

Heirloom Seed Resources

Appalachian Seeds (Burnsville, NC) www.appalachianseeds.com Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Company (Missouri) www.rareseeds.com High Mowing Organic Seeds (Vermont) www.highmowingseeds.com Johnny’s Selected Seeds www.johnnyseeds.com Kusa Seed Society www.ancientgrains.org Seed Savers Exchange (Iowa) www.seedsavers.com Southern Exposure Seed Exchange (Virginia) www.southernexposure.com Sow True Seed (Asheville, NC) www.sowtrueseed.com Territorial Seed Company (Pacific Northwest) www.territorialseed.com

Fun Nutrition Resources

Singing Vegetables

Positive entertainment for kids! Puppet shows and music videos about health, creativity, and taking care of the earth.

Tailgate farmers market, people buying produce.
Copy Protected by Chetan's WP-Copyprotect.